Hisashi Kobayashi's Blog
Sherman Fairchild University Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Princeton University

Professional Services and Appointments

Read the rest of this page
1973-Present: Founding Member, IFIP Working Group 7.3: Computer System Modeling, Vice Chairman, 1982-1986.
1977-1980: Associate Editor, IEEE Trans, Computers
1978-1981: Vice Chairman, the U.S. National Committee, International Union of Radio Science (URSI), Commission C: Signals and Systems.
1979-1986: Founding Editor-in-Chief, International Journal: Performance Evaluation, (North-Holland).
1979-1982: Advisory Council, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Princeton University.
1980-1983: Associate Editor, IEEE Trans. Information Theory.
1981-1982: U.S. Research Council, Computer Research Panel, Task Force Member on the Fifth Generation Computer.
1983-1986: Editorial Board, IBM Journal of Research & Development.
1984-1986: Senior Technical Editor, IEEE Communications Magazine.
1984-1991: Editorial Board, Artificial Intelligence & Computer Science Series, North-Holland.
1985: Planning Task Force Member, Institute of System Science, Singapore.
1985-1990: Editorial Board, Applied Stochastic Models and Data Analysis, John Wiley.
1985-1986: Vice Chairman, Information Section, IEICE, Japan
1986-1991: Board of Trustees, Princeton-in-Asia Program
1986-1998: International Review Board, Institute of System Science, Singapore
1986-1997: International Scientific Advisory Board, Advanced System Institute of British Columbia, Canada, 1986-97.
1987-1990: Governing Board, New Jersey Consortium on Surface Processing. Acting Chairman, 1987-88.
1987-1992: Advisory Council, Electrical Engineering Department, University of Pennsylvania.
1988-1991: Science Advisory Committee, SRI International Menlo Park, California.
1988-1991: Chairman of Award Committee, IEEE Richard Hamming Prize
1989-1991: Long Range Planning Committee, American Society of Engineering Education (ASEE).
1989-1995: Scientific Advisory Board, Information Technology Research Center, Ontario, Canada.
1989-1995: Advisory Council, Electrical Engineering Department. Lehigh University.
1990-1992: Board of Advisors, The Brewer Award and Prize for Achievements in Science, Franklin Institute, Philadelphia, PA
1990: External Examiner Review Board, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
1990: Advisory Board, Meitec U.S.-Japan Friendship House, Cambridge, MA.
1990: Chairman, Premier’s Council on Information Technology Research Center, Ontario, Canada.
1990-1994: External Examiner Review Board, Center for System Science, Simon Fraser University, British Columbia, Canada, 1990-94.
1990-2000: Editorial Advisor, World Scientific Publisher, Singapore.
1991: Chair of Juror, Eta Kappa Nu in the selection of Outstanding Young Electrical Engineers
1991: Systems Integration Panel, Computer Science & Telecommunication Board (CSTB), National Research Council, Washington, D.C.
1993-2004: Grant Review Panel, National Science Foundation, Washington D.C.
1995-2005: Editorial Board, Wireless Networks, ACM & Baltzer Science Publisher.
1996: External Examiner, Communications Research Laboratory, Ministry of Postal and Telecommunications, Japan.
1998: External Review Board, Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, Duke University.
1998: Guest co-editor, IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, “Advances in Computational Aspects of Teletraffic Models,” June 1998.
1998-2001: Board of Visitors, School of Engineering, Duke University.
1998-2001: International Review Board, Kent Ridge Digital Laboratory, Singapore.
1999-2001: Advisor, Digital Engineering Project, RIKEN, Wako, Japan.
2001: Advisor, Japan Research Center for Technology and Innovative Management, Japan
2001-2005: International Advisory Board, Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (AIST), Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI).
2002-2006: Executive Committee (Chairman, Dr. Leo Esaki), The 21st Century COE (Center of Excellence) Program, Ministry of Culture and Education (MEXT), Japan.
2002-2006: IEEE Simon Ramo Medal Committee.
2003: External Review Committee, University of Tokyo, Institute of Industrial Science (ILS).
2003: External Review Committee, Communications Research Laboratories (CSL), Ministry of Postal and Telecommunications, Japan.
2004: Technical Program Committee, IEEE Infocom Colloquium on Broadband Access Technology and Market, Singapore, October.
2004: Conference Vice-Chair, 2nd International Conference on Quality of Service in Heterogeneous Wired/Wireless Networks (QShine), Orlando, FL, December.
2006: Advisory Board, QShine Conference, Waterloo, Canada, July
2007: Advisory Member, 2007 Hawaii, IEICE, and SITA Joint Conference on Information Theory, University of Hawaii, May
2007: Scientific Council, ICST (Institute for Computer Science, Social-Informatics and Telecommunications Engineering), Brussels, Belgium.
2008: International Advisory Committee, CHINACOM 2008, Shanghai, China, August.
2007-2015: Board of Directors, Friends of Todai, Inc. (FOTI), New York, NY. President, 2011-2015
2009-2021: Board of Directors, Armstrong Memorial Research Foundation, Inc, Columbia University, New York
2009: General Chair, 2009 PACRIM Conference, University of Victoria, August.
2009-2013: Advisory Board, German-Lab (G-Lab) on future Internet, Würzburg, Germany.
2010-2013: Advisor to the President of Toyota Technological Institute, Nagoya.
2010-2016 Review Board, Mobility First (NSF funded Future Internet Architecture), Rutgers University, NJ
2015-present: Advisory Committee, Friends of UTokyo, Inc. (FUTI), New York, NY, Chairman: 2015-2019
2016: Conference Co-Chair: ITC2016, Würzburg, Germany, September 2016.

Comments are closed.